RSS Feeds

What's Trending: Is the third time the charm for Britney Spears' comeback?

Sunday - 3/20/2011, 3:10pm  ET

Is Britney Back?

WTOP's Neal Augenstein and Nathan Hager discuss the leaked tracks from the new Britney Spears album "Femme Fatale."


Neal Augenstein & Nathan Hager,

WASHINGTON - The pop superstar who sang "Hit me baby, one more time" is hoping the third time will be the charm for her career comeback.

And for fans of Britney Spears, the waiting ends March 29, when her new album "Femme Fatale" drops.

Britney's comeback arguably began in late 2007, with the release of "Blackout", a production-heavy collection of techno-pop that gave producers free rein to manipulate Britney's voice any way they saw fit. "Blackout" dropped at the height of Britney's struggles with drugs, family problems and the pressures of fame.

"Femme Fatale" marks a return to "Blackout's" dance-heavy sound, and a bit of a departure from Britney's last album, "Circus", which adopted a slightly more poppy gloss.

How do we know so much about the new album? Well, just about all the tracks from Britney's seventh studio album have been leaked online in one form or another.

The first single, "Hold It Against Me," has been out since January, but the song was trending even before that, when a stripped-down demo sung by soulful co-writer Bonnie McKee leaked online.

The album's second single, and the first track on the album, "Till the World Ends," dropped in early March, and if it sounds like "Tik Tok" singer Ke$ha, there's a reason for that.

Ke$ha, who was born without a dollar sign in her name as Kesha Sebert, is listed as a co-writer of the track, along with the Swedish powerhouse songwriters Max Martin, Dr. Luke, and Alexander Kronlund.

Ke$ha says she considers herself a songwriter first and thinks it's an honor to write a song for one of pop's biggest icons.

Maybe she'll add a little glitter to Britney's comeback.

Listen to the rest of the tracks that have leaked ahead of Femme Fatale's formal release (OK, all the tracks have leaked now), and judge for yourself.

3. Inside Out

4. I Wanna Go

5. How I Roll

6. Drop Dead Beautiful

7. Seal It with a Kiss

8. Big Fat Bass

9. Trouble for Me

10. Trip to Your Heart

11. Gasoline

12. Criminal

Bonus tracks:

13. Up n' Down

14. He About to Lose Me

15. Selfish

16. Don't Keep Me Waiting

Follow Neal and Nathan on Twitter.

(Copyright 2011 by WTOP. All Rights Reserved.)