RSS Feeds

Golf Glance

Tuesday - 10/1/2013, 9:50am  ET

The Associated Press

All Times EDT



Site: Dublin, Ohio.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Muirfield Village Golf Club (7,354 yards, par 72).

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, noon-6 p.m., 8 p.m.-2 a.m.; Friday, 1-6 p.m., 8 p.m.-1 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 8 p.m.-2 a.m.) and NBC (Saturday, 8 a.m.-6 p.m.; Sunday, noon-6 p.m.).

Format: Team match play. Thursday, six foursomes matches; Friday, six fourball matches; Saturday, five morning foursomes matches, five afternoon fourball matches; Sunday, 12 singles matches.

United States (c-captain's pick): Keegan Bradley, Jason Dufner, Bill Haas, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, c-Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, c-Jordan Spieth, Steve Stricker, Tiger Woods. Captain: Fred Couples.

International: Angel Cabrera, Argentina; Jason Day, Australia; c-Brendon de Jonge, Zimbabwe; Graham DeLaet, Canada; Ernie Els, South Africa; Branden Grace, South Africa; c-Marc Leishman, Australia; Hideki Matsuyama, Japan; Louis Oosthuizen, South Africa; Charl Schwartzel, South Africa; Adam Scott, Australia; Richard Sterne, South Africa. Captain: Nick Price, Zimbabwe.

Last matches: The United States won for the fourth straight time, beating the International team 19-15 in 2011 at Royal Melbourne in Australia. Jim Furyk became the fourth player to win all five of his matches. The United States leads the series 7-1-1.

Notes: Jack Nicklaus founded and designed the club, the first to host the Ryder Cup (1987), Solheim Cup (1998) and Presidents Cup. ... Kuchar won the Memorial at Muirfield Village in June. ... Woods has a record five victories in the Memorial, the last in 2011. ... Scott is the only player on the International team with a PGA Tour victory this year. He won the Masters and The Barclays playoff event. ... Mickelson is making his 10th appearance in the matches. He's the only player to compete in every event. ... The 2015 matches will be played at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon, South Korea. ... The 2013-14 seasons opens next week with the Open at CordeValle in San Martin, Calif.


PGA Tour site:




Site: Beijing.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Pine Valley Golf Club (6,596 yards, par 73).

Purse: $1.8 million. Winner's share: $270,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-5 a.m.; Friday, 4-6 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Inaugural event.

Last event: Norway's Suzann Pettersen won the rain-shortened Evian Championship on Sept. 15 in France for her second straight victory and second major title. She beat 16-year-old amateur Lydia Ko by two strokes.

Notes: The event is the tour's first in China. ... Top-ranked Inbee Park is in the field along with Stacy Lewis, Chinese star Shanshan Feng, Yani Tseng, So Yeon Ryu, Beatriz Recari, Na Yeon Choi, Karrie Webb, Cristie Kerr, Jessica Korda, Solheim Cup star Caroline Hedwall and Michelle Wie. ... Park swept the first three major championships of the season and has three other LPGA Tour wins this season. ... Lewis won the Women's British Open for her third victory of the season. ... Feng won the LPGA Championship last year to become China's first major champion. ... Jack Nicklaus designed Pine Valley. ... The LPGA Malaysia is next week, followed by the HanaBank Championship in South Korea and the LPGA Taiwan Championship.





Site: Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Saint-Nom-la-Breteche Golf Club (6,983 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2.37 million. Winners' shares: $135,430 per player.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 9-11:30 a.m.; Saturday, 8 a.m.-3 p.m.; Sunday, noon-3 p.m.).

Format: Team match play. Thursday, five fourball matches; Friday, five fourball matches; Saturday, eight foursomes matches; Sunday, 10 singles matches.

Britain and Ireland: Paul Casey, England; Jamie Donaldson, Wales; Tommy Fleetwood, England; Stephen Gallacher, Scotland; Scott Jamieson, Scotland; Simon Khan, England; Paul Lawrie, Scotland; David Lynn, England; Marc Warren Scotland; Chris Wood, England. Captain: Sam Torrance, Scotland.

Continental Europe: Thomas Bjorn, Denmark; Gregory Bourdy, France; Nicolas Colsaerts, Belgium; Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Spain; Mikko Ilonen, Finland; Miguel Angel Jimenez, Spain; Joost Luiten, Netherlands; Matteo Manassero, Italy; Francesco Molinari, Italy; Thorbjorn Olesen, Denmark. Captain: Jose Maria Olazabal.

Series: Britain and Ireland leads 6-1-0.

Last matches: England's Mark Foster beat France's Raphael Jacquelin 1-up in 2011 in the deciding match to give Britain and Ireland its sixth straight victory, 15½-12½.

Notes: Seve Ballesteros, the Spanish star who helped create the event, died in 2011 from complications of a cancerous brain tumor. He was 54. ... Continental Europe's lone victory came in 2000 in the inaugural matches at Sunningdale in England. ... Fernandez-Castano replaced Sweden's Peter Hanson, sidelined by a back injury. ... Jimenez is making his eighth appearance in the matches. He's the only player to compete in every event. ... Each member of the losing team will receive $101,575. ... The Portugal Masters is next week, followed by the Perth International.

   1 2  -  Next page  >>