Comment
0
Tweet
0
Print
RSS Feeds

Day gets another injury scare at British Open

Friday - 7/18/2014, 5:37pm  ET

Jason Day of Australia prepares to play off the 5th tee during the second day of the British Open Golf championship at the Royal Liverpool golf club, Hoylake, England, Friday July 18, 2014. (AP Photo/Alastair Grant)

DOUG FERGUSON
AP Golf Writer

HOYLAKE, England (AP) -- Jason Day won the Match Play Championship, and then played only one tournament (the Masters) over the next three months because of a thumb injury. So imagine the scare at the British Open when he took a practice swing and felt a stinging sensation from his left hand.

It wasn't the thumb. It was his wrist.

"I took a practice swing and something popped in my left side, and it was kind of like a tingling sensation through my hand, and it went straight up to my elbow," Day said Friday after a birdie on the 18th hole for a 73 that assured he would at least make the cut.

It happened on Thursday, and Day said it bugged him the rest of the day. He received treatment and played the second round with his wrist heavily taped.

At least this injury doesn't appear to be serious.

"I've had wrist injuries before," Day said. "And it just didn't feel like it was a harm to me. So I just wanted to get through the round and see the guys, see how it went. And today it was only one shot where it felt bad."

Day said he had a similar problem last year at the British Open, only the pain was in his right side.

"It's very firm here. The ground is very firm," the Australian said. "And then you hit in the long stuff and you're kind of gouging it out. ... So every time I come here I know that I have to get my forearm loosened up. Once they tighten up, something pops in my wrist and goes up my elbow. So that's kind of one thing that I need. Or hit more fairways. That's probably a good idea. Hit more fairways."

___

BUBBA TV: Bubba Watson knew he was going to miss the cut at 4-over 146, but he had to wait until Friday afternoon to make sure. He was headed home to watch coverage of the British Open on the BBC and hang out with some friends.

Wait. Bubba watches golf on TV?

"I do like this when I don't have anything else to watch," Watson said. "At home, I won't sit and watch golf -- unless it's the Masters. Everybody loves the Masters."

Watson, of course, is never home for the Masters.

"I watch the replay a lot," the two-time Masters champion said. "I've got two favorite years I watch all the time. But over here we'll watch it because it's neat. This is how golf is intended to be played. So yeah, it's fun to watch the bounces and everything."

Watson said the only golf -- outside the Masters -- he'll watch in America is the LPGA Tour because "they're always positive."

"It would be rare to hear a negative comment," Watson said. "I hate the negative comments. I mean, guys are trying their hardest. We always hear, 'Oh, that's terrible,' and this and that. 'I did this when I was 17 years old. Shot 63 before.' That's why I don't watch coverage anymore. There's too much negative stuff going on in the world -- not just golf, the whole world. Just can't even watch the stuff."

___

HAAS RULING: Bill Haas thought he might be in danger of missing the cut. Instead he shot a 2-under 70 and was near the leaders when he finished. He was helped by a huge break and a ruling that required some clarification.

Haas hit his tee shot on the 17th into high rough, and with about a minute left in the five minutes they were allowed to search, the ball was found.

That was the first good break. The next one was just as important.

"It had been stepped on, but in the hay," Haas said. "The person who found it said it was kicked, but he didn't step on it. But we determined the lie had been altered."

Miguel Angel Jimenez thought Haas was getting relief for an embedded lie, which he didn't think was allowed at The Open. He asked Haas to get a second opinion -- the first ruling came from USGA executive director Mike Davis.

Haas was given relief under Rule 18-1 because someone else moved the ball, and he was allowed to replace it under Rule 20-3b because the lie had been altered. Jimenez did not appear happy, mainly because he sought relief from an embedded lie a few years at The Open was denied.

   1 2  -  Next page  >>