RSS Feeds

WTOP wins AP awards

Monday - 6/9/2014, 1:17pm  ET

Mike McMearty (WTOP/Sharon OMalley)
WTOP Senior News Director Mike McMearty accepts one of the station's awards. (WTOP/Sharon O'Malley)
  • Gallery: (3 images)

WASHINGTON -- WTOP took home eight awards - the most of any other major radio station in the Washington area - at the Chesapeake Associated Press Broadcasters Association convention.

The radio station also received an AP Protection Award for its strong contribution to the region's news coverage.

The awards were presented in Ocean City, Maryland, at the annual CAPBA convention on Saturday, June 7, 2014.

The CAPBA awards presented to WTOP included the following:

  • Outstanding Coverage of a Continuing Story, "Government Shutdown," WTOP Staff
  • Outstanding Year-Round Local Sports: WTOP Staff
  • Outstanding Multimedia Online Journalism, "A Hero's Best Friend," Darci Marchese
  • Best Reporter: Megan Cloherty
  • Outstanding Talk Show "Ask The Governor," Mark Lewis, Debra Feinstein
  • Outstanding Use of Sound: Thomas Warren
  • Outstanding Editorial or Commentary, "Core Values": Chris Core
  • Outstanding Sports Feature, "Hockey Dentist": Jonathan Warner

At the convention, WTOP News Director Mitchell Miller assumed the leadership of CAPBA as its new president for the coming year.

Follow @WTOP on Twitter and on WTOP Facebook page.

© 2014 WTOP. All Rights Reserved.