RSS Feeds

Suffolk delegate to head House Appropriations

Wednesday - 12/4/2013, 12:38pm  ET

RICHMOND, Va. -- Republican Del. Chris Jones of Suffolk is the new chairman of the House Appropriations Committee.

House Speaker Bill Howell on Wednesday appointed Jones to succeed Del. Lacey Putney of Bedford, who is retiring after more than 50 years in the House of Delegates.

Because of unusually high turnover, Jones is one of seven new committee chairmen in the Republican-controlled House. The others are Ed Scott of Madison County, Agriculture, Chesapeake and Natural Resources; Steve Landes of Augusta County, Education; Lee Ware of Powhatan County, Finance; Todd Gilbert of Shenandoah County, General Laws; Barbara Comstock of Fairfax County, Science and Technology; and Tom Rust of Fairfax County, Transportation.

Six other committee chairmen were reappointed.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.