RSS Feeds

Easton incumbents keep seats on town council

Wednesday - 5/8/2013, 10:44am  ET

EASTON, Md. (AP) -- Voters in Easton have returned three incumbents to their seats on the town council.

Council President John Ford, Ward 2 Councilman Pete Lesher and Ward 4 Councilwoman Megan Cook will serve four more years after Tuesday's election.

About 318 voters cast ballots. Ford says the lack of candidates may have contributed to the low turnout. Ford and Lesher ran unopposed and Cook had one challenger, Andre Gibson Sr.

Ford received 300 votes across all wards and Lesher received 94 votes in Ward 2. In the contested Ward 4 election, Cook received 129 votes to Gibson's six.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Tags: eastonmaryland