RSS Feeds

12 Va college faculty members to receive awards

Friday - 1/25/2013, 8:07am  ET

RICHMOND, Va. - A dozen faculty members from Virginia colleges and universities will receive the 2013 Outstanding Faculty Award.

They'll be recognized Feb. 12 and receive a $5,000 check. The program is administered by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

The Richmond Times-Dispatch ( reports the professors are Robert Bausch of Northern Virginia Community College; Rita Chi-Ying Chung of George Mason; J. Emmett Duffy of the College of William and Mary; Paul Hanstedt of Roanoke College; Erik Hewlett of the University of Virginia; Laura Taalman of James Madison; Shiv Khanna of Virginia Commonwealth; and Eve Torrence of Randolph-Macon College.

Assistant or associate professors receiving the award are Jasmin Darznik of Washington and Lee; Stephen Edwards of Virginia Tech; Olga Pierrakos of James Madison; and Frances Williams of Norfolk State.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)