RSS Feeds

Works by Nobel laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Friday - 4/18/2014, 1:36am  ET

A woman shows a book by Colombian author Gabriel Garcia Marquez for sale next to a book by Fidel Castro at a state-run bookstore in Havana, Cuba, Thursday, April 17, 2014. Garcia Marquez, who died at his home in Mexico City on Thursday, became a hero to the Latin American left as an early ally of Cuba's revolutionary leader Fidel Castro. (AP Photo/Franklin Reyes)

The Associated Press

Nobel laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez was among Latin America's most popular writers and widely considered the father of a literary style known as magic realism.

A partial list of his works:


-- "No One Writes to the Colonel and Other Stories," 1961

-- "One Hundred Years of Solitude," 1967

-- "The Autumn of the Patriarch," 1975

-- "Chronicle of a Death Foretold," 1981

-- "Love in the Time of Cholera," 1985

-- "The General in his Labyrinth," 1989

-- "Strange Pilgrims," 1992

-- "Of Love and Other Demons," 1994

-- "Memories of My Melancholy Whores," 2004


-- "The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor," 1970

-- "News of a Kidnapping," 1996


-- "Living to Tell the Tale," 2002

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.