RSS Feeds

Senators appointed to Va. Medicaid panel

Thursday - 4/11/2013, 2:37pm  ET

RICHMOND, Va. -- The last four voting members have been appointed to a state commission that will oversee Medicaid reform and expansion in Virginia.

Senate Finance Committee chairman Walter Stosch on Thursday named Senators Emmett Hanger, John Watkins, Janet Howell and Louise Lucas to the Medicaid Innovation and Reform Commission. The 2013 General Assembly established the commission to monitor implementation of Medicaid reforms sought by Virginia as a condition for expanding the program to an additional 400,000 uninsured low-income Virginians.

Previously appointed voting members from the House of Delegates are Steve Landes, Jimmie Massie, Beverly Sherwood, John O'Bannon and Johnny Joannou.

The governor's office will be represented by two non-voting members.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.