RICHMOND, Va. (AP) -- Spring fire season is under way and Virginia's burning law is in effect.
Burning is prohibited before 4 p.m. if the fire is within 300 feet of woodland, brushland or fields that contain flammable materials such as dry grass.
Violators face up to a $500 fine. Anyone who allows a fire to escape is liable for any property damage, along with the cost of suppressing the fire.
The spring fire season began Feb. 15 and runs through April 30.
The Virginia Department of Forestry says a major cause of wildfires is the burning of leaves, yard waste or trash.
Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Scenes from last night's show and spectacle in Las Vegas.(Photos)
An 18-year-old creates a tiny device that charges a phone quickly. (Video)
J.K. Rowling scribbled notes and drawings in a first-edition copy.
A funeral home offers a bicycle hearse and a casket that's a basket.